Governing Board of Contemplative Outreach June 5, 2021 Meeting Minutes Approved

Governing Board Members Present: Jenny Adamson, Kathy DiFede, Maru Ladron de Guevara, Phil Jackson, Pat Johnson, Julie Saad, Tom Smith, and Carol Quest

Also Present: Mary Jane Yates, Administrator, Kathleen Gilgannon, Financial Administrator

- 1. The meeting opened with Centering Prayer.
- 2. Approval of minutes for May 18, 2021: Maru moved to approve the minutes and Pat seconded. All approved.
- 3. Financials: Kathleen Gilgannon presented the first quarter balance sheet and budget documents noting some employee compensation shifted to contractors.
- 4. Vision, Principles, Guidelines, and Intentions: The board read together the Contemplative Outreach Vision, Principles, and Guidelines as well as the 2020 Intentions which have been affirmed for 2021 as well.
- 5. Board Selection Process
 - The board selection committee was formed with Pat Johnson, Maru Ladron de Guevara and Jenny Adamson plus a member of the staff.
 - The selection process will be ongoing, seeking candidates from throughout the Contemplative Outreach community
 - Jim McElroy will formally join the Board in January 2022
- 6. Staff will draft the annual report to hand out at the conference with Kathleen presenting the financial report at the conference. The financial report will also be easily accessible on the website.
- 7. Contribution to the Meditation Chapel: Phil moved that Contemplative Outreach donate \$1000 to the Meditation Chapel, Julie seconded, all approved
- 8. Biannual Conference: The Board confirmed that the purpose of the conference is to nourish and refresh the community. Members of the community are invited as honored guests with no fee charged to attend this year's conference. Individuals are encouraged to contribute donations to Contemplative Outreach as they are prompted by the Holy Spirit.
- 8. Next Board Zoom call is with staff on June 15, 2021 at 12:00 pm EDT.

Respectfully submitted, Carol Quest, Secretary